36 °C Manila, PH
May 23, 2024

DOT Sec. Frasco inducts PTAA’s new board


Department of Tourism (DOT) Secretary Christina Garcia-Frasco inducted the PTAA Board of Directors (Nov.2022-Nov.2023) during the association’s general membership meeting last January 19 at New Coast Hotel in Manila.

Making time from a tight schedule, Secretary Frasco thanked  the travel agents and tour operators for their contribution in sustaining the DOT’s tourism efforts despite the pandemic and typhoons that beset the country in the past years.

The DOT has overshot its target of 1.7M arrivals with 2.65M visitors last year with over P208 billion in tourism receipts, a figure Frasco recognizes mainly as a result of the efforts of the private sector.

“We ask for your continued collaboration with DOT as we view you to be our essential partners in ensuring that we continue the gains that we have already had,” said Frasco.

The PTAA Board of Officers for the year 2023 are: Patria T. Chong – President; JR Formilleza – Exec.Vice President;  Julita Maballo – VP Outbound; Myra Bonifacio – VP Inbound; Cynthia Lyrio – Sec-Gen; Jason Sim – Asst. Sec-Gen; Llanila Cruz – Treasurer; Flora Caberte – Asst. Treasurer; Herminigildo Delatado – PRO; Melvin Cordero; and Trustees Frederick Cuatico, Romeo Rodriguez, Jeffrey Encarnado,  Marian Florina Hernando and Joel Dublin.

Newly elected president Patti Chiong expressed support to the programs of DOT, especially the ‘Bisita, Be My Guest’ program that aims to motivate OFWs and overseas Filipinos to invite at least one foreigner with them when they go home to the Philippines.

“I am positive that the 4.8 million arrivals can be achieved, but it’s going to be a lot of hard work. There should be coordination and cooperation between public and private sectors,” Chiong imparted.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.